Downloadable books

ITTF Pro Tour 2008

The ITTF Pro Tour started in 1996, but here's what happened in 2008.
Plus all the results from the 2008 end of season Grand Finals.

 By Martin Hughes
 Owner and Editor

ITTF Pro Tour Winner - Ma Long by courtesy of the ITTF

After suffering a steady decline in the number of top players competing in International Open Tournaments, the International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF) initiated a brand new premier competition in 1996 ... one that was specifically designed to attract the best players in the world...

The ITTF Pro Tour.

You can read all about it here.

In 2008, it was the 13th consecutive year of the ITTF Pro Tour.

The 2008 Schedule

The 2008 ITTF Pro-Tour consisted of 14 international tournaments leading up to the end-of-season Grand Finals held in Macao, China.

Although the ITTF Pro-Tour consists of men's singles, women's singles, men's doubles and women's doubles, I'll be concentrating on the main event... the men's singles.

So what were the tournaments which made up the ITTF Pro Tour in 2008?

DATES ITTF Pro Tour Events 2008 MS WINNERS
15-19 Jan Slovenian Open (Velenje) Vladimir Samsonov
13-16 Mar Kuwait Open (Kuwait City) Vladimir Samsonov
18-22 Mar ERKE Qatar Open (Doha) Ma Lin
17-20 Apr Brazil Open (Belo Horizonte) Jiang Tianyi
23-27 Apr Chile Open (Santiago) Ryu Seung Min
14-18 May VW China Open (ChangChun) Wang Hao
21-25 May VW Open - Japan (Yokohama) Ma Lin
22-25 May STAG Belarus Open (Minsk) Vladimir Samsonov
29 May-1 Jun VW Open - Korea (Daejeon) Ma Long
5-8 Jun VW Open - Singapore (Singapore) Ma Long
11-14 Sep Panasonic China Open (Shanghai) Hao Shuai
29 Oct-2 Nov ERKE Austrian Open (Salzburg) Timo Boll
19-23 Nov ERKE German Open (Berlin) Timo Boll
26-30 Nov Polish Open (Warsaw) Timo Boll

^ Top of page ^

Prize money

The prize money varied from tournament to tournament.

Some of the events were designated as premier events ... such as Kuwait and Qatar which both offered the largest total purse ... $211,600 ... with the men's and women's singles winners receiving $28,800 each.

The Pro Tour Grand Finals offered a total prize fund of $290,000 ... with the men's and women's singles winners collecting $38,000 each and the men's and women's doubles winners collecting $10,000.

^ Top of page ^

The Grand Finals

The Grand Finals were held in Macao, China from 11-14 December 2008 and with all the Pro-Tour events completed, the players who had accumulated the most points in the men's singles were as follows:

Rank Elig Points Events Continents Player
1   67200 6 1 MA Lin CHN
  NE 62000 5 2 BOLL Timo GER
2   59200 6 1 WANG Hao CHN
3   56900 6 3 SAMSONOV Vladimir BLR
4   54600 7 1 MA Long CHN
5   31675 10 3 CHUANG Chih-Yuan TPE
6   27300 7 1 CHEN Qi CHN
7   25500 7 1 WANG Liqin CHN
8   24800 10 3 JIANG Tianyi HKG
9   23800 6 2 RYU Seung Min KOR
10   18600 8 3 CHEUNG Yuk HKG
11   17575 7 2 YOON Jae Young KOR
12   17050 7 3 LI Ching HKG
13   17000 7 2 MAZE Michael DEN
  NE 15650 2 1 HAO Shuai CHN
  NE 13650 5 1 ZHANG Jike CHN
14   13450 7 2 OVTCHAROV Dimitrij GER
15   13050 7 1 JOO Se Hyuk KOR
16  Invitation place for a
 Home Association player

But even though Timo Boll, Hao Shuai and Zhang Jike had accumulated sufficient Grand Prix points, they didn't meet the additional qualifying criteria of competing in at least six tournaments or playing on at least three continents.

So unfortunately they weren't eligible to take part in the prestigious end of season grand final.

^ Top of page ^

2008 ITTF Pro Tour Grand Finals

Round One

Winner Result Loser
MA Lin 4-2 JOO Se Hyuk
CHEN Qi 4-0 RYU Seung Min
WANG Liqin 4-1 CHEUNG Yuk
MA Long 4-0 YOON Jae Young
SAMSONOV Vladimir 4-0 OVTCHAROV Dimitrij
JIANG Tianyi 4-2 LI Ching
CHUANG Chih-Yuan 4-0 LEONG Kin Wa
WANG Hao 4-0 MAZE Michael


^ Top of page ^

Quarter Finals

Winner Result Loser
MA Lin 4-3 CHEN Qi
MA Long 4-0 WANG Liqin
SAMSONOV Vladimir 4-1 JIANG Tianyi
WANG Hao 4-1 CHUANG Chih-Yuan


^ Top of page ^

Semi Finals

Winner Result Loser
MA Long 4-1 MA Lin
WANG Hao 4-0 SAMSONOV Vladimir


^ Top of page ^


Winner Result Runner-up
MA Long 4-0 WANG Hao
13-11, 11-9, 11-9, 11-5


ITTF Pro Tour 2008 Winner - Ma Long by courtesy of the ITTF

Ma Long
Winner of the 2008 ITTF Pro-Tour Final



You can read more about the ITTF Pro-Tour here.


^ Top of page ^


Great deals at
For more information about the ITTF World Tour, take a look at my other articles...

ITTF Pro Tour (1996-2011)


ITTF World Tour (2012-2016)


ITTF World Tour (2017 onwards)



Other Major Tournaments

Olympic Games


World Championships


World Cup


European Championships


Commonwealth Games




See Who Performed Best

World Rankings


Table Tennis Events Calendars


Table Tennis Officials

^ Top of page ^

Claim Your FREE Membership

and Join the TOP TABLE

Claim Your FREE Membership

And get Exclusive Information via Email from

Tips •  Strategies •  Techniques •  Tactics
Rules •  Equipment •  Coaching •  News & much more

Enter your details here

First Name

Email address

We respect your privacy

Join me at the Top Table Join me at the Top Table

Claim Your FREE Membership and Join the TOP TABLE

And get Exclusive Information via Email AllAboutTableTennis

News & much more

Enter your details here

First Name

Email address

We respect your privacy